YOUR NONPROFIT RESOURCE FOR ARTS IN MARIN

There are no recent bookmarks.

Please Note: This event has expired.

LOCAL>> The Rabbi Goes West

Presented by California Film Institute at Streaming Arts

Jul 26 2020
LOCAL>> The Rabbi Goes West

Watch film starting July 24 on Rafael@Home,
Join us July 26 for a livestream conversation!

SUNDAY, JULY 26  • 5:00 PT / 7:00 CT / 8:00 ET
Join us for a livestream conversation with co-directors Gerald Peary and Amy Geller and film subject Rabbi Chaim Bruk

There’s an evangelical strand of Hasidic Judaism — Chabad-Lubavitch — spreading across the world. The Rabbi Goes West focuses on one Chabad rabbi, 34-year-old Chaim Bruk, who moved from Brooklyn to unlikely Bozeman, Montana, to bring his brand of Judaism to the American West. Part of his Chabad mission is to place a mezuzah, an encased prayer offering, on the doorpost of every Montana Jew. That’s less than 2,000 families spread across a state fourteen times larger than Israel.

As he travels across this “big sky” landscape, Chaim confronts a terrifying neo-Nazi threat. He also faces objections to his proselytizing from some skeptical Jews and the state’s rabbis, both Reform and Conservative. While they acknowledge that he is beloved by his congregants, they fear his larger goal to put up Chabad centers everywhere in Montana. Will Chaim succeed in his Chabad expansion, and at what cost?

ADMISSION INFO

Film – on Rafael@Home:
$11 – General
$7 – CFI Members (Member Number Required)
VALID FOR 48 HOURS

Livestream Conversation:
Free, RSVP required

Contact: 415-454-1222

Email: rafaeltheater@cafilm.org

    Official Website

Additional time info:

5:00 pm – livestream conversation

VIDEOS

CONNECT WITH California Film Institute

    Email
/
    Website
/
    Facebook
/
    Twitter
/
    Instagram
/

In-Person Events

Artist Profile Submission Guidelines

Follow us on Facebook