Sep 30 2018
The Birth of Venus

The Birth of Venus

Presented by Echo Chamber Orchestra at First Presbyterian Church of San Anselmo

ECHO Chamber Orchestra is excited to announce the first concert of their 2018/2019 season entitled The Birth of Venus.

The program will feature three programmatic works inspired variously by art, people, and one’s own journey through life.

Mozart’s Symphony No. 41 in C major, “Jupiter,” gained inspiration from the latter. As this is Mozart’s last symphony, it gives the audience an image of the classical period in its entirety. Especially near the end of the piece, the grandeur is created by a multitude of melodies that not only references Bach’s famous counterpoint but also foreshadows the coming Romantic period.

Carl Maria Von Weber’s Concertino in E flat Major was composed in 1811 for his friend and clarinetist, Heinrich Baermann. Our soloist Dan Ferreira, clarinetist and ECHO founding member, first performed this piece nearly 15 years ago and is excited to share his newfound interpretation full of bravura, passion, and brilliance after recently attending a chamber music intensive workshop in New York.

Ottorino Respighi, known for larger orchestrated works, composed Botticelli Triptych for a smaller chamber orchestra. Not to worry, the piece does not lose any of the Respighi charm and the three Sandro Botticelli paintings Respighi used for inspiration can be both vividly seen and heard.

Admission Info

$35, $25 & $15 – Tickets available online or at the door.

Wheelchair accessible. Ample free street parking, residential neighborhood.

Contact: Tyler Graves

Phone: 415-300-7962


Additional time info:

7:30 pm – with post-concert reception

Dates & Times

2018/09/30 - 2018/09/30

Location Info

First Presbyterian Church of San Anselmo

72 Kensington Road, San Anselmo, CA 94960

Parking Info

Wheelchair accessible. Ample free street parking.