Oct 23 2017
Amy Tan - Where the Past Begins

Amy Tan - Where the Past Begins

Presented by Dominican University - Institute for Leadership Studies and Book Passage at Angelico Hall - Dominican Univ of CA

In Where the Past Begins, bestselling author of The Joy Luck Club and The Valley of Amazement Amy Tan is at her most intimate in revealing the truths and inspirations that underlie her extraordinary fiction. By delving into vivid memories of her traumatic childhood, confessions of self-doubt in her journals, and heartbreaking letters to and from her mother, she gives evidence to all that made it both unlikely and inevitable that she would become a writer. Through spontaneous storytelling, she shows how a fluid fictional state of mind unleashed near-forgotten memories that became the emotional nucleus of her novels.

Amy Tan is the author of The Valley of AmazementThe Joy Luck ClubThe Kitchen God’s WifeThe Hundred Secret SensesThe Bonesetter’s DaughterThe Opposite of Fate: Memories of a Writing Life, and two children’s books. Tan was also a co-producer and co-screenwriter of the film version of The Joy Luck Club.

Photograph credit Julian Johnson.

Admission Info

Tickets: $40 (includes a complimentary signed book)

Phone: 415-927-0960

Email: ils@dominican.edu

Additional time info:

7:00 pm – 8:00 pm

Dates & Times

2017/10/23 - 2017/10/23

Location Info

Angelico Hall - Dominican Univ of CA

20 Olive Ave., San Rafael, CA 94901