Please Note: This event has expired.
San Quentin, From Then to Now
Speakers Series: Lt. Sam Robinson, Public Information Officer, San Quentin Prison
The prison’s origins date to the California Gold Rush, a period that roughly spanned from 1848 to 1852.
With the influx of fortune seekers came an increase in crime and in 1852, 20 acres of land were acquired at San Quentin. Convicts began constructing the building later that year and the cell blocks were completed in 1854.
San Quentin State Prison originally held 250 inmates including female prisoners, which continued until 1933.
Lt. Sam Robinson, PIO at San Quentin for five years, runs at least two tours of the institution each week for college classes, law enforcement groups, documentary filmmakers, and public figures who want to take a look inside California’s first prison.
He also responds to media inquiries about inmates on death row, a task unique to San Quentin. Please join the Marin History Museum and Lt. Sam Robinson for a very convicting presentation.
Please RSVP for the event (email or call): firstname.lastname@example.org • 415-382-1182
Suggested donation is $10. Free for Elk members with current card.
Please RSVP (email or call)
Directions: Elks Lodge, 1312 Mission Ave at C Street, San Rafael. Look for hidden driveway. Parking in the rear of mansion. Follow one-way signs.
Additional time info:
1312 Mission Ave, San Rafael, CA 94901